Living by Faith

People love to talk about “faith” — it’s in quotes, wall decor stickers, and tattoos. It’s popular and trendy to have faith. But like all overused words, the meaning of faith can often be lost.

I have faith. I definitely live by faith. In the beginning, I don’t think it was intentional, rather I had no choice. Most of my life has been spent feeling my way through the dark. I have no idea where I’m going or what I’m doing and I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. I have control over very few things, but I maintain faith.

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. (Hebrews 11:1 The Message)

Faith isn’t just believing in things we cannot physically see. It is more than believing in a God. Faith is believing that the impossible will happen. It’s believing that good things are in store for you and everything is going to work out — sooner or later in some shape or form.

I remember a few years ago, I had no idea how I was going to pay my rent. I wasn’t working enough to cover all my bills. I was job hunting more than I met my basic needs. I was hustling to pull together whatever money I could. In my field, hustling is mostly substituting, babysitting, and shadowing children.

A few days before my rent was due, my part-time job accidentally paid me. I don’t work there during the summer. It’d been like this for the past 3 years and they had followed that plan for the 2 other pay days. But for some reason, the accountant forgot this time.

I don’t believe in coincidences. I believe the things I hope for will actually happen.

Living a life of faith requires us to relinquish control. It is uncomfortable and difficult. But it is also very rewarding.

Life can flourish when you let go.

Living by faith will take you places you only imagined. You will find yourself doing things you only dreamed of. It is then miracles begin to happen in our lives.

As I walk into a future of complete uncertainty, I am so excited about all the miracles I will witness.

I challenge you to live a life full of faith, allowing yourself to believe that the things that you hope for will come to pass.

2 thoughts on “Living by Faith

Leave a Reply

